Review: New Rimmel London Matte Show Off Lip Velvet!

Hey guys! I’m so glad to be back and I’m even more excited to do this post for you! You’ve probably noticed by now that I’m going to be reviewing the new Rimmel London Matte Show Off Lip Velvet.

*Note: All thoughts are completely 100% my own. I purchased this item with my own money. We all have our own opinions and I ask that we respect that here.

Let me tell you guys, I was so excited to find this item! I am a matte lip girl 100% and when I found out about this I was dying to get my hands on it. I live on the countryside of Oahu and it literally takes ages for my local drugstore to stock up on the new season’s products, so I drove down to the city area and I was able to pick this up. Before I write any of my thoughts, I will first let you know what the company says about these lip products. Straight from the website, this product provides:

  • Weightless liquid color with a velvety smooth finish
  • Earth-shattering intense color stays true for up to 8 hours
  • Moisturizing formula instantly increases lip moisture by 31%

When I heard about these promises, I wanted to jump up and buy this right off the spot. Matte lippies are my life! I am not a glossy girl at all. I love my lips to be a pigmented (not necessarily bold) color with no shine that lasts for a long time. Needless to say, this was right up my alley.

These lip velvets retail for $5.99 and there are 4 available shades including this one. The color I purchased was Burning Lava, and this is by far one of my favorite reds! It is slightly deep with the slightest of berry touches, but it is so beautiful. The applicator is sort of a doe-foot applicator, but there is a slight dip in it so you can really get all the product out and onto your lips:

IMG_2791

IMG_2792

As you can see, the color is super pigmented (only 1-2 swipes are shown in the picture above) and bold. It goes on very smooth and the formula is super silky and velvety, just as promised.

Swiping the product onto my lips was like putting on liquid heaven. The formula is just like velvet and it feels like there is nothing on your lips all day. I absolutely love that! It may feel like air, but the color is so crazy pigmented!

You might be surprised when it goes on because it is not immediately matte. It has sort of a demi-matte finish and there is still a light sheen through it.

IMG_2793

It remains this way for about 1/2 an hour to an hour, which I thought I would hate, but it is actually really nice. It mattes out for me after this short time, so I still love it! It remains very moisturizing on your lips and doesn’t dry out at all (at least in my experience).

The only slight tiny con is that this, for me, doesn’t last quite up to 8 hours. Don’t get me wrong, the color stays on and actually has a nice slight staining effect, but it does begin to come off after eating and talking all day, but it still looks really good at the end of the night. It also transfers onto drinking glasses or when you kiss your hand, so if you don’t like that, this might not be for you.

Still this is a really beautiful velvety product and I do give it two thumbs up! Thanks so much for reading and if you try out this product, feel free to let me know your thoughts in the comments! If you have anything you’d like me to review, let me know that as well!

Have a beautiful day or night wherever you are!

-NBG

6 thoughts on “Review: New Rimmel London Matte Show Off Lip Velvet!

  1. Jennifer Marie says:

    Love love this review!
    Have you tried Younique cosmetics yet? Their products are made with natural, clean ingredients and made here in the USA. I blog my reviews as well for makeup and skin care products to food. A little bit of it all. If you’d be interested in having a virtual party to earn some free goodies, please let me know. I love their 3D Fiber Lash Mascara. I’m going to try this lip product because I don’t really enjoy a shiny gloss on my lips, and the fact this loos mate makes me happy. How did it feel going on? I read like liquid velvet, but just wanted to make sure it didn’t look cakey if that makes sense 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment